Side mount

Hi all,

I recently underwent my side mount certification from SSI. During the certification, I used a UTD Z system. Thereafter I did a couple of dives with Hollis SMS 50. I liked both. After a thorough research, I have decided to buy the Razor system. Since I haven’t used Razor system, I want some input from experts who have, before I order it.

Thanks

Hi,

what do you want to know. What are your questions?

Regards
Chris

Welcome to the SM-Family :wink:

I am sure that you will get all informations you ASK for :wink:

Regards
Roby.

Thanks guys. I am a novice diver with 50 dives to my credit, having started last April. I am looking to get into technical diving in the months to come. I have a back problem and can’t use BP/W and hence decided to go the side mount way. My question is will the Razor system be able to handle all combinations of tanks for tech diving?

Also, I found that most of the dive shops do not encourage side mount divers. How do I handle this so that I can get enough experience in side mount once I have my own gear?

The questions may be very amateurish but I do not want to take a decision without clarifying my doubts.

It woud be highly beneficial to know where you plan to dive. Dry or wet, the type of tanks (steel aluminum) and your usual weight requirements. Depending on that information, the best advice could vary.

Oliver

I mostly dive in warm water, wet suit and with aluminium tanks. During my training and subsequent open water dives with 2 AL80s, I used 6lbs of weight and it was perfect, both with UTD Z and SMS 50.

Ok. Just to explain the reason for my question. If you are suffering from back issues and plan to dive in cold water, if that were in a drysuit with heavy insulation, you would likely need a lot of additional weight. Placement of the weight would be crucial in regards to your back issues and the rigs obviously differ a lot in this regard.